Friday Five: Midsummer Edition

Welcome to another weekly roundup. The summer solstice has come and gone in the UK, much like the summer sunshine. Who needs more than three weeks of warmth? Enough about the weather, on to my list from this week:

  1. TV: Episode 2 of Loki took advantage of a lot of the setup in Episode 1. It also introduced us to another major player in the show, as well as hinting at the greater conflict. I enjoyed this one quite a bit more than the first.
  2. AUDIO: I began to enjoy The Last Sun more after moving past the opening sections (involving a raid). It became more of a mystery plot line, which I found enjoyable. I’m still not loving the setting or the tone, but the book is enjoyable. The narration is quite slow, so I’m listening on 1.9x and getting through it quite quickly.
  3. SHORT: This week I read “Little Free Library” by Naomi Kritzer. A short, lovely story about a woman who set up a Little Free Library outside her house, only for something strange to happen.
  4. EBOOK: I went into the office this week, meaning prime ebook time on my commute. I got through a bit more of Seven Deaths of Empire. It’s still good, but I think the momentum I had before I put it down for a bit has slipped away. I’ll just have to focus. The takeaway message from the chapters I read through was that the new emperor is a dick, somewhat reminding me of Joffrey.
  5. COMIC: I finished off Superman For All Seasons (written by Jeph Loeb & illustrated by Tim Sale). I am not the biggest Superman fan, but I really enjoyed the one other book I’ve read by the Loeb/Sale team, being Batman: The Long Halloween, so I was optimistic. Overall, I thought it was great. A bit slow or inconsistent at times, but overall I really enjoyed it. Some great art too (see below). Might look into another book of theirs: Spider-Man: Blue.

That’s it for me. Have a nice weekend!

Cheers,
Shannon

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started